Tourist resting point "Sint Ludgeruskerk"
The Sint-Ludgeruskerk van Doornspijk was originally located north of the current Doornspijk, one of the beautiful village centres of Elburg, at the seawall along the former Zuiderzee. The church was completely demolished after heavy damage by the storm of February 1825 and a fire due to lightning on October 18, 1825. The exact spot where the church once stood is marked with stones on the former foundations. These are now surrounded by a beautiful circle of lime trees. Bird watchers enjoy the, sometimes rare, water birds from a beautiful bird hut.
There are also nice seats and picnic tables, all looking out over the reed of the Veluwemeer. A picturesque spot, accessible on foot from the fortified town over the sea dyke or by bicycle along the Nieuwstadsweg between junction 01 and 02.